Special Education

True access to a classical education for all students.

Great Hearts is a network of public charter schools that provide a Free and Appropriate Public Education (FAPE) to students with disabilities, who are currently eligible or are determined eligible to receive special education services and related services.

Providing access to a classical education to students with disabilities is central to Great Hearts’ philosophy of education, which seeks to enrich the lives of all of our children. We believe that the unnecessary removal or compartmentalizing of any student because of special needs would result in an impoverished experience for the entire class.

As such, our practice is to include our students with disabilities to the maximum extent possible in the general classroom while supporting their development of strategies and skills through specialized instruction. This practice is guided by the mission of the special education program at Great Hearts, which is dedicated to fostering our students’ perseverance through courage and introspection.

In pursuit of these virtues, our Special Education teams develop a program for each eligible student that maximizes access to the liberal arts curriculum through small-group or one-on-one instruction, both inside and outside of the regular classroom during the school day. Our teams comply with the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), and include instruction in skills and strategies in areas of deficit and may incorporate related services including, but not limited to:

  • Speech and Language services
  • Occupational therapy
  • Physical therapy
  • School-based counseling
  • Consultation with a hearing teacher

If you believe your student is a child with a disability and requires specialized instruction, or for more information about special education services please contact the special services personnel at your local academy.

Anthem Preparatory Academy

Amy Bernstein: abernstein@anthemprep.org

Archway Classical Academy Arete

Nicolette Mosley: nmosley@archwayarete.org

Arete Preparatory Academy

Katie Buetow: kbuetow@areteprepacademy.org

Archway Classical Academy Chandler

Gabriela Flatt: gflatt@archwaychandler.org

Robin Vollinger: rvollinger@archwaychandler.org

Chandler Preparatory Academy

Sarah Fore: sfore@chandlerprep.org

Archway Classical Academy Cicero

Ali Farnham: afarnham@archwaycicero.org

Cicero Preparatory Academy

Ali Farnham: afarnham@archwaycicero.org

Archway Classical Academy Glendale

Tracee Johnson: tjohnson@archwayglendale.org

Christina Almazan: calmazan@archwayglendale.org

Glendale Preparatory Academy

Jeannine McDonald: jmcdonald@glendaleprep.org

Archway Classical Academy Lincoln

Eric Harris: eharris@archwaylincoln.org

Lincoln Preparatory Academy

Eric Harris: eharris@archwaylincoln.org

Archway Classical Academy North Phoenix

Michelle Jensen: mjensen@archwaynorthphoenix.org

Maryvale Preparatory Academy

Nikki Georgia: ngeorgia@maryvaleprep.org

Archway Classical Academy Scottsdale

Marla Babcock: mbabcock@scotsdaleprep.org

North Phoenix Preparatory Academy

Alison Stone: astone@northphoenixprep.org

Archway Classical Academy Trivium West

Veronica Neal: vneal@archwaytriviumwest.org

Scottsdale Preparatory Academy

Marla Babcock: mbabcock@scotsdaleprep.org

Archway Classical Academy Trivium East

Veronica Neal: vneal@archwaytriviumeast.org

Teleos Preparatory Academy

Ali Farnham: afarnham@teleosprep.org

Archway Classical Academy Veritas

Tiffany Fox: tfox@archwayveritas.org

Trivium Preparatory Academy

Veronica Neal: vneal@triviumprep.org

Veritas Preparatory Academy

Tiffany Fox: tfox@veritasprep.org

Great Hearts Irving

Jaecelyn Armstrong: Jaecelyn.Armstrong@GreatHeartsIrving.org

Great Hearts Northern Oaks

Rebecca Rindahl: Rebecca.Rindahl@GreatHeartsNorthernOaks.org

Great Hearts Monte Vista North

Deanna Blacconeri: Deanna.Blacconeri@GreatHeartsMonteVista.org

Great Hearts Monte Vista South

Deanna Blacconeri: Deanna.Blacconeri@GreatHeartsMonteVista.org

Pursuant to the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) 2004, each charter is responsible for locating, identifying and evaluating children with disabilities. Within 45 calendar days of initial enrollment all students will be screened. We will notify you within 10 calendar days if an area of concern is indicated by a classroom teacher.

Please review the Great Hearts Special Education Policies and Procedures.

Information regarding parent and student rights in Arizona can be found on the Arizona Department of Education website at Procedural Rights and Safeguards-English or Procedural Rights and Safeguards-Spanish.

The Special Education Rules and Regulations for the State of Texas can be found at the Texas Education Agency website.

The Texas Transition and Employment guide can be located here.

If your questions or concerns are not successfully addressed by the special education coordinator, please contact the Headmaster.

If you are still not satisfied with how your questions and concerns have been addressed, make an appointment with the Exceptional Student Services Director at the Great Hearts network office.

Should your concerns remain unresolved, please contact  your Great Hearts local Governing School Board.

Thomas Doebler | Exceptional Student Services Director
Great Hearts | 3102 N. 56th Street, Suite 300 | Phoenix, AZ 85018
P: 602.438.7045 ext. 345 | F: 602.759.8821 | E: tdoebler@greatheartsaz.org

Diane Jones | Regional Director of Exceptional Student Services
Great Hearts Texas | 3350 W. Story Rd. | Irving, TX 75038
P: 469-759-3030 | E: diane.jones@greatheartstx.org

Bryan Smith | Vice President, Texas Academies
Great Hearts Texas | 3350 W. Story Rd. | Irving, TX 75038
P: 469-759-3030 | E: bryan.smith@greatheartstx.org